top of page
Untitled_Artwork 5.JPG


Step into the breezy soundscape of 'Breeze,' where the boundaries between indie rock and folk blur into a mesmerizing blend of raw energy and heartfelt melodies. This EP is not just a collection of songs; it's a journey through the depths of musical exploration.

With each track, listeners are invited to immerse themselves in a world where indie rock's gritty edge meets the soulful storytelling of indie folk. From the infectious rhythms to the soaring harmonies, 'Breeze' captivates from the first chord to the last note.

Drawing inspiration from the diverse sounds of the indie scene, this EP offers something truly unique and unforgettable. Whether you're a fan of indie rock, indie folk, or simply a lover of great music, 'Breeze' promises to leave a lasting impression.




1. "Cynical", the opening track of the EP, is a heartfelt indie folk tune that embodies the essence of introspective storytelling. Inspired by the raw honesty of indie folk artists, this song is a culmination of years of musical exploration and personal growth. Recorded in a manner reminiscent of a bygone era, with multiple takes and rehearsals in a studio setting alongside close friends, "Cynical" exudes a nostalgic charm. Its poignant lyrics delve into the complexities of the human psyche, offering listeners a raw and authentic journey through the depths of self-reflection. The song serves as a reminder of the power of resilience and the importance of finding solace in the support of loved ones during times of inner turmoil. With each note, "Cynical" becomes a cathartic release, weaving together melancholy melodies and heartfelt lyrics to create a truly memorable listening experience.


  • Written and performed by Sam Poon

  • Recorded by Sam Grossman and Daniel Daeyun at Gonzo’s in NYC

  • Vocals and acoustic guitar by Sam Poon, electric guitars by Sam Grossman

  • & Greg Lou, keys by Oliver Tonken, bass by Zekie Quitco, drums by Noah Rozenblatt

  • Mixed by Sam Poon

  • Mastered by Harper James

2. Unlike "Cynical," where we all got together in the studio, "Breeze" was mostly a solo venture, though I had some incredible friends jump in for overdubs. You might catch Gian Perez from NYC's Office Hours adding his magic, along with Zekie from the post-rock scene. And of course, Sam Grossman, who helped record "Cynical," lent his talents on lead guitar here too. Plus, my little brother Will was a huge help with shaping the song's vibe.

As for the lyrics, they're a bit of a mixed bag. The chorus—"Fuck paranoia, I never say what's on my mind"—that's pretty straightforward, a nod to my past struggle with speaking up. But then there's this whispered hook about feeling something shifting in the world, like "something's in the air, can you feel it in your knees?" It's all about change, about sensing the winds of transformation blowing through. So yeah, "Breeze" is a bit of a wild ride, but hey, isn't that what rock 'n' roll's all about? Once again, this tune is heavily inspired by Alex G, as well as the iconic indie band Deerhoof.


  • Written, recorded, produced, and performed by Sam Poon

  • Additional guitars by Gían Pérez, Zekie Quitco, and Sam Grossman, keys/samples & bass & drums by Sam Poon

  • Mixed by Sam Poon

  • Co-arranged by Will Poon

3.  "U_R", the third track of the EP, is the newest addition to the project, yet it encapsulates its spirit with grace and intimacy. Crafted as a love letter to my (now ex) girlfriend, this song serves as a whispered lullaby, a tender reminder of the inspiration she brings into my life each day.

The instrumentation of "U_R" is deliberately kept simple, with live drums, electric bass, and acoustic guitar forming the foundation. However, there are also delightful surprises woven throughout, adding layers of depth and emotion to the composition.

Deeply personal and heartfelt, "U_R" invites listeners into a world of love and vulnerability. The catchy whistled melody, repeated twice throughout the song, infuses it with a sense of warmth and affection, echoing the sentiment of the lyrics.

While the song is a personal tribute to my relationship, I hope listeners will find their own connections and interpretations within its verses. After all, music transcends individual experiences, speaking directly to the soul in a language that resonates universally. So as you immerse yourself in the gentle embrace of "U_R," allow its melodies to wash over you, reminding you of the power and beauty of love in all its forms.


  • Written, recorded, produced, and performed by Sam Poon

  • Mixed by Sam Poon

  • Mastered by Harper James


4. "IDFTSWIWU", the closing track of the 'Breeze' EP, emerges as a treasure unearthed from the depths of my hard drive. Crafted nearly four years ago, it lays claim to being the oldest track on the project, serving as the foundational inspiration for its tone and themes. After languishing in obscurity for years, it was revitalized last year, finally completed after numerous mix drafts.

Thematic echoes of "U_R" resonate through "IDFTSWIWU," sharing its tender expressions of love and gratitude. As the EP's closing statement, it offers a serene denouement, gently guiding listeners towards the project's conclusion. With its gentle melodies and heartfelt lyrics, it beckons listeners into a world of introspection and reflection.

In the grand narrative of the EP, "IDFTSWIWU" serves as a poignant culmination of the journey embarked upon since the opening chords of "Cynical." Its tranquil demeanor offers a sense of closure, wrapping the project in a comforting embrace as it draws to a close.

So, as you bask in the melodic embrace of "IDFTSWIWU," allow its soothing tones to wash over you, inviting contemplation of the path that has led you here. In its quietude lies a profound depth, echoing the sentiments of a project that has come full circle.



  • Written, recorded, produced, and performed by Sam Poon

  • Bass by Gían Pérez

  • Mixed by Sam Poon

  • Mastered by Harper James

Streaming Preview


"Cynical" MV/Visualizer

"There’s something about this artist and this sound that just breathes innovation into the scene. At the same time, the softness and humble delivery of that leading voice is so quietly confident that there’s an additional level of realness and even something slightly endearing about the whole thing." - Rebecca Cullen, Stereo Stickman

"There is nothing ironic in Sam’s old soul vibe. This is an artist who cares deeply about the song he is singing, and it is really beautiful music." - Bob Smith, Static Dive



Past Live Performances


Email for inquiries

thank you for your time!

bottom of page